A Killing Smile

I always wondered what people meant when they say ‘love at first sight’. A recent experience gave me the answer I needed. It was more than just an answer…I was actually in ‘love at first sight’…

I was at my uncle’s place to visit my grandmother. As I entered the house a beautiful smile greeted me. It was so beautiful that I could not stop staring. I came back to my senses when a little girl with an enchanted smile came to me and said, “Please have your seat.” I fell so much in love with her smile that I kept staring at her all day.

She was a 10-year-old house help at my uncle’s place and worked in her own joyful way. One after the other she kept doing things. She never stopped. Every time we called her for lunch we received the same response – ‘Let me finish this bit of work’. I learnt from my aunt that she works from 6.30 am – 6.30 pm. She keeps the house clean, waters the plants, folds the clothes and helps my aunt with cooking. I also learnt that she is always very active and most importantly she never let go of that beautiful smile – a smile that really moved me.

She served every bit of the food I ate that day and every glass of water I drank. Later that evening my aunt wanted to make some hot pakodas for us and this lovely kiddo was chopping onions. I joined to help her and had a little chat with her. She told me that she had three elder sisters. Two of them got married and the other was also a house help like her.

And then, slowly but steadily the smile started killing me. Every time I saw her I got suffocated. I knew from deep within that this beautiful young girl deserved much more than being a house help. I also knew that I was not as brilliant as a kid as she was. What suffocated me was my helplessness in doing something for her. The innocence in her smile, the way she enjoyed life in spite of all the odds, the way she was grateful to what life gave her..in fact everything about her started suffocating me to death for not being able to help her. What could I do for her? Could I ask my uncle to support her education and let her go to school?

To my rescue came my two cousins. It struck to me after a lot of fighting with myself that I had two cousins who lived in the same house. They were 12 and 10 years old. They were out to play when it struck to me that they could help. I went searching for them like a desperate parent looking for her lost kids. When we got back home, I started talking to them about my little love. I told them that they should help her learn because she did their work all day. I told them that she deserved to be much better than a house help and both the kids agreed. I told them that education was the best of all gifts and god would take care of them if they took care of this little girl. After one hour of discussion and planning with them they promised that they would help the little girl learn and that l would receive regular updates. The first assignment was that my cousins listen to her, know her story, know why she stopped studying, know if she would like to learn and tell me the story. I told them that once they are done with the first assignment I will tell them how to take it forward.

In a hurry I forgot I had to take an update from my cousins. But to my surprise one of my cousins called me a couple of days later and said that my love wants to learn but she stopped studying because her father couldn’t afford to send her to school. My cousin also said that she will start teaching my love from the coming Sunday.

Hats off to the kiddos (my cousins). My heart was back in its place.

By the way, ‘Kumari’ is the name of this beautiful young girl with an enchanted smile.

This entry was posted in Experiences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Killing Smile

  1. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  2. Good day! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  3. aio licorne says:

    It’s laborious to seek out educated people on this matter, but you sound like you understand what you’re talking about! Thanks

  4. I am especially impressed with your writing skills and too with the explain on your blog. Is this a salaried theme otherwise did you adjust it yourself? Anyway keep in the lead the admirable worth script, it’s unusual to see a great blog like this one these days

  5. Hoyt Fluhman says:

    You made some first rate points there. I regarded on the web for the problem and found most people will associate with with your website.

  6. Ed Garcilazo says:

    Outstanding study, I emphatically voted for this onto a friend who was doing a insufficiently research taking place that. In addition to he really bought me eat since I located it for him smile Hence agree to me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

  7. chimney man says:

    whoah this blog is fantastic i really like reading your articles. Keep up the great work! You understand, lots of people are hunting around for this information, you can help them greatly.

  8. An insightful post right there mate . Thank you for that .

  9. Is it alright to insert part of this on my personal web site if I publish a reference to this web-site?

  10. Dorsey Kirsh says:

    Was this your opinion? Really, it’s brilliant! It seems like a lot of people won’t take the time to make a true effort towards excellence. The internet is full of such crud and I end up wasting so much time trying to find good information from reliable sources.

  11. Genuinely clear web web site , thanks for this post.

  12. In 20 years no one will be concerned about this. The internet is changing both the beliefs and the data for any given situation so quickly. But still, keep up the good work.

  13. I just want to mention I’m newbie to blogs and definitely savored you’re page. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You definitely have exceptional articles. Many thanks for sharing your web-site.

  14. I simply want to say I am new to blogging and definitely savored this web site. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You certainly come with very good writings. Regards for sharing with us your website.

  15. AsHiSh says:

    nicely written…. touching story…. but hats off for the solution…
    Saying “STOP Child labour ” is easy… but we have to see it’s root….

  16. Narayanarao Rayapureddy says:

    Wish everyone started taking responsibility like u. Kudos!!

  17. Vishal Gupta says:

    Really well written. Looking forward to see more work from you.

  18. Sonali says:

    Love at first sight indeed! Beautiful post. I agree with Paresh, you took a very practical approach, ensuring that the little girl got her education without jeopardizing her source of income. And you did a good job by sensitizing your cousins who actually live in that house and are of the same age group. By this I hope you have not only facilitated your love’s education but taught an important lesson to your cousins as well. Well done!

  19. ritesh says:

    well done dear 🙂

  20. Swetha Patnaik says:

    🙂 Lot of people go till the thinking zone and stop but actually stepping forward and putting thoughts into action is amazing 🙂

  21. Liked the practicality in the situation, asking her to not work and go to school probably isn’t a solution most of the time. Let education start where ever it is, soon the girl will find her own way to school.

    • Thanks Paresh. Child labour is one thing I have been thinking about for a very long time. And I learnt that it is not as easy to take responsibility of these kids as it is to say ‘STOP child labour’. I have been thinking of alternative methods for empowering these kids and here is one of them. And I believe education is everywhere for someone who really wants to learn 🙂

  22. Venkatesh says:

    U knw, i actually like the part where u promised a soln. to the ” Smile which u fell in love @ first sight ” to be right back in its place from turning into a “Killing Smile”

    I guess by now, the “Killing Smile” isn’t killing anymore but might b a reason for more smiles on ur face since its ur ” ‘first’, Love @ first sight ” 🙂 🙂

  23. Nirmal Mekala says:

    Heart Touching incident…Hats off !!!

Would love to hear from you. Drop a comment :)

